Pavenham is a picturesque village north-west of Bedford, where the traditional craft of rushwork is still carried on. Matting made in Pavenham was supplied to the Houses of Parliament. The common bulrush has been harvested in the village for over 300 years.
Pavenham has a winding main street containing thatched cottages and a pub, The Cock Inn. Mill Lane leads to the banks of the River Great Ouse. The Church of St. Peter has a tall tower with a stone spire. The Old School, which dates from 1853, is now a private residence. It has an external clock in remembrance of Joseph Tucker, who was the High Sherriff of Bedfordshire in 1861 and a prime supporter of the National School.
Photos 1 - 12 of 12